Fake. New.

It’s been a few years since I bothered writing, much has happened and I’m not going to elaborate.

As things currently stand the country is fucked beyond all expectations, there’s no real solutions in sight and Winter is coming. Again.
As unsurprising as all of this is it’s still remarkable how totally unprepared we are for it.

Years ago I moved to Birmingham on a dart-throw whim and when I arrived I realized I’d forgotten to pack a few things. One of them was a tin opener. Hardly a big deal, so I went to the local corner shop and bought a new one. When I tried to use it though I found that the metal it was made from was weaker than the can it was meant to open. The can opener wasn’t actually a can opener, it was a can opener shaped object, sold as a real one.
For me it’s become something of a metaphor for “how things are”.
We don’t have a functioning government, judicial system or democracy any more, instead we have things that look like them them but totally aren’t.

There are reasons for all this and, as you can imagine, they’re mostly financial. Capitalists cite “costs” as a valid excuse for inaction, but money has stopped working and their entire economic system is broken. Yet instead of admitting it and working towards a solution they carry on with the façade, plunging the country and the bulk of its inhabitants into blinkered dark hopelessness.
Something’s surely got to change.

There have been threads of hope in recent years indicating that positive change may well be on the way, but as yet nothing has come to fruition. One of the problems causing this impasse is that people are still Consumers.
Generally speaking people consume Hope and don’t tend to create it, waiting for others to act and then maybe join in. Enthusiasm ebbs and flows until it’s ultimately dead and all are left exhausted by misplaced optimism.
Breaking that tired cycle is very difficult, almost insurmountable.
It needs to begin with removing oneself from the process and inventing something else.

I obviously don’t have any answers, just as you don’t, but yet again I’m compelled to say that nothing’s working.
Seriously how long can any of us continue this?

Leave a comment